Pakistan, Bangladesh T20 series: Pakistan won by four wickets in the first match thanks to the important partnership of Nawaz and Shadab


Pakistan, Bangladesh T20 series: Pakistan won by four wickets in the first match thanks to the important partnership of Nawaz and Shadab








Chasing 128 in the first match of the T20 series in Bangladesh, Pakistan has won by four wickets to take a one nil lead in the series.





The first match of the three-match Twenty20 series between Pakistan and Bangladesh was played today at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, where Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first, setting a target of 128 for victory.



Following the loss of the sixth wicket, Pakistan’s batting was in trouble when Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz added 36 runs off just 15 balls to lead their team to victory.



Unlike the current World T20, Pakistani batting in this match could not get much help from captain Babar Azam and wicket keeper Muhammad Rizwan in the top order. Fakhr Zaman and Khushdal Shah were all out for 34, after which Shadab Khan scored 21 off 10 balls with the help of two sixes while Muhammad Nawaz managed to score 18 off 8 balls.




Detailed match scorecard

Taskin Ahmed gave Bangladesh two important wickets of captain Babar Azam and Fakhr Zaman. Pakistani bowler Hassan Ali, who came under fire after his defeat in the semi-finals of the World Twenty20, was declared the best player of the match. He took three notable wickets for just 22 runs.

Early shocks in pursuit of the target

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan started the innings for Pakistan but Pakistan’s first wicket fell in the third over when Mohammad Rizwan was bowled by Mustafizur Rehman while captain Babar Azam was relieved in the next over despite getting a chance. They got bowled on Ahmed’s ball.

Then young batsman Haider Ali became LBW on the ball of Mehdi Hassan in the fifth over of the innings. Haider Ali could not score any runs





On this occasion, the most experienced batsman of the Pakistani team Shoaib Malik came on the crease but on the score of zero fast bowler Mustafizur Rehman was run out by the keeper in the over. In the 15th over, Fakhr Zaman scored 34 runs and was caught by Taskin Ahmed.

Dil Shah himself was the player who got out of Pakistan who scored 34 runs and was caught by the keeper on the ball of Shariful Islam.

Earlier, due to the poor bowling of Pakistani bowlers, the batsmen of the host team were in trouble from the very beginning of batting by Bangladesh.

Pakistan fast bowler Hassan Ali gave the team a great start and opener Muhammad Naeem was caught in the second over of Bangladesh’s innings.

Muhammad Waseem Jr. in the third and fifth overs of the innings, dismissing opener Saif al-Hassan and batsman Najam al-Hussein Shanto added to the difficulties of the Bangladesh team.



In the ninth over, captain Mahmudullah was bowled after scoring six runs off Muhammad Nawaz’s ball. Four batsmen had returned to the police with only a single figure score. Bangladesh’s fifth wicket fell in the 13th over when Afif Hussain stumped Shadab Khan’s ball after scoring 36 runs.

At the time, it seemed that the Bangladesh team might not be able to score even 100 runs, but Noorul Hassan and Mehdi Hassan supported the faltering batting and in the 17th over, the 35-run partnership helped the scoreboard reach 96 when Noorul Hassan After scoring 28 runs, he was caught by Hassan Ali.

Mehdi Hassan took two sixes in the last over of Harris Roof to take Bangladesh to 127 when seven wickets had fallen. For Pakistan, Hassan Ali took three wickets, Mohammad Wasim Jr. two and Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan one each.

Pakistan team has reached Bangladesh after a great performance in the World T20 and their spirits will surely be high. On the other hand, the Bangladesh team could benefit from the home ground and before going to the World T20, the Bangladesh team had beaten Australia and New Zealand in the T20 while playing at home.




Pakistan’s star bowler Shaheen Afridi has been rested for today’s match.

On the other hand, two important announcements have been made in the world of cricket today. South Africa’s all-rounder AB de Villiers has announced his retirement from all international cricket, while Australia’s Test captain Tim Penn has resigned over an inappropriate message.

Pakistan team: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhr Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Khush Dil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Wasim Jr.

Bangladesh team: Muhammad Naeem, Saif al-Hassan, Najam al-Hussein Shanto, Mahmudullah, Afif Hussain, Sharif al-Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Amin al-Islam, Mehdi Hassan, and Mustafizur Rehman