T20 World Cup 2022 10 records to be broken

 T20 World Cup 2022 10 records to be broken

T20 World Cup 2022 10 records to be broken

Records for the most runs, wickets and catches in all ICC Men’s T20 World Cups are just some of the benchmarks under threat in the eighth edition of the tournament.

If records truly are made to be broken, here are 10 that could be smashed at the T20 World Cup 2022:

Players named in the T20 World Cup 2022 squads are in bold

Total runs

A standout in the early editions of the T20 World Cup, Mahela Jayawardena is the only batter to reach four figures for total runs across multiple tournaments.

The former Sri Lanka captain’s record is now under threat from India’s Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, with Australia opener David Warner also within striking distance.

Most runs in t20 world cup 2022

Top 10: Total runs

Mahela Jayawardena (SL)101631
Chris Gayle (WI)96533
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)89735
Rohit Sharma (IND)84733
Virat Kohli (IND)84521
David Warner (AUS)76230
AB de Villiers (SA)71730
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)69831
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)66131
Shoaib Malik (PAK)64634

Total centuries

Only eight batters have hit a ton in T20 World Cups and just one – Chris Gayle – has done it twice. The retired West Indies opener will now give others a chance to catch, and perhaps overtake, his benchmark for centuries.

Jos Buttler was the only centurion in the T20 World Cup last year, while Alex Hales announced himself with a ton in 2014, leaving the England openers best placed to claim the record from Gayle.

Leaders: Total tons

RunsOpposition, Year
Brendon McCullum (NZ)123Bangladesh, 2012
Chris Gayle (WI)117South Africa, 2007
Alex Hales (ENG)116*Sri Lanka, 2014
Ahmed Shehzad (PAK)111*Bangladesh, 2014
Tamim Iqbal (BAN)103*Oman, 2016
Jos Buttler (ENG)101*Sri Lanka, 2021
Suresh Raina (IND)101South Africa, 2010
Chris Gayle (WI)100*England, 2016
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)100Zimbabwe, 2010

Total scores of 50 or more

While tons are hard to hit in T20Is, the top batters can regularly reach half-centuries.

India batter Virat Kohli will look to extend his incredible record for 10 scores of 50 or more, which have been made in 21 matches and while only being dismissed 11 times, but Rohit Sharma could yet claim this crown.

Seven batters have four scores of 50 or more in T20 World Cups, but Pakistan skipper Babar Azam is the only one set to have an opportunity to add to that tally in Australia this year.

Leaders: Scores of 50+

Scores 50+Matches
Virat Kohli (IND)1021
Chris Gayle (WI)933
Rohit Sharma (IND)833
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)731
David Warner (AUS)630
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)635
Shane Watson (AUS)524
AB de Villiers (SA)530

Most runs in a T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli also tops all-comers for runs scored in a single edition of the T20 World Cup and is the only batter to appear in this top-10 list twice.

Top 10: Runs in a tournament

Virat Kohli (IND)31920146
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)31720097
Babar Azam (PAK)30320216
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)30220106
Tamim Iqbal (BAN)29520166
David Warner (AUS)28920217
Mohammad Rizwan (PAK)28120216
Virat Kohli (IND)27320165
Jos Buttler (ENG)26920216
Matthew Hayden (AUS)26520076

Total wickets

Bangladesh spinner Shakib Al Hasan will be back to extend his lead for the most wickets in all T20 World Cups, with India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin the closest in the count set to appear again this year.

Several others including Mitchell Starc (24) and Tim Southee (22) should rise into the top 10 but will need incredible tallies to catch the Bangladesh veteran.

Top 10: Total wickets

Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)4131
Shahid Afridi (PAK)3934
Lasith Malinga (SL)3831
Saeed Ajmal (PAK)3623
Ajantha Mendis (SL)3521
Umar Gul (PAK)3524
Dale Steyn (SA)3023
Stuart Broad (ENG)3026
Dwayne Bravo (WI)2734
R Ashwin (IND)2618


Only two bowlers have claimed four wickets or more in three innings at T20 World Cups, including Bangladesh spinner Shakib Al Hasan.

The 35-year-old veteran returns for an eight edition and may well claim the record for himself, though team-mate Mustafizur Rahman could instead surge to the top with a couple more devastating displays.

Leaders: Four-or-more-wicket hauls

4+ WicketsMatches
Saeed Ajmal (PAK)323
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)331
Mustafizur Rahman (BAN)210
Morne Morkel (SA)217
Ajantha Mendis (SL)221
Umar Gul (PAK)224
Shahid Afridi (PAK)234

Most wickets in a T20 World Cup

Only six bowlers have claimed 13 wickets or more in a T20 World Cup with Pakistan quick Umar Gul a standout for achieving it in each of the first two editions.

Leaders: Wickets in a tournament

Wanindu Hasaranga (SL)1620218
Ajantha Mendis (SL)1520126
Dirk Nannes (AUS)1420107
Adam Zampa (AUS)1320217
Trent Boult (NZ)1320217
Umar Gul (PAK)1320097
Umar Gul (PAK)1320077

Total catches

Former South Africa stalwart AB de Villiers was as reliable in the field as behind the stumps, and holds the record for the most catches at T20 World Cups.

New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and Australia batter David Warner are not far behind and could prove at this year’s T20 World Cup that catches win more than just matches.

Three players are equal on 13 catches at T20 World Cups, including West Indies all-rounder Daren Sammy who leads on his own for taking four in one match.

Leaders: Total catches

AB de Villiers (SA)2330
Martin Guptill (NZ)1928
David Warner (AUS)1830
Rohit Sharma (IND)1533
Dwayne Bravo (WI)1534
Steve Smith (AUS)1418
Glenn Maxwell (AUS)1420
Ross Taylor (NZ)1428

Total keeper dismissals

Former India skipper MS Dhoni’s record for the most dismissals by a wicketkeeper at T20 World Cups looks safe, but South Africa’s Quinton de Kock and Australia’s Matthew Wade will hope to rise up the ranks with a deep run into the knockout stages.

Top 10: Total dismissals

MS Dhoni (IND)3233
Kamran Akmal (PAK)3030
Denesh Ramdin (WI)2729
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)2631
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN)2433
Mark Boucher (SA)1616
Quinton de Kock (SA1513
Matthew Wade (AUS)1413
Mohammad Shahzad (AFG)1319
Luke Ronchi (NZ)129

Most keeper dismissals in a T20 World Cup

No keeper has yet claimed 10 dismissals across a T20 World Cup although six have come close with nine including Australia’s Matthew Wade last year.

Leaders: Dismissals in a tournament

AB de Villiers (SA)920125
Adam Gilchrist (AUS)920076
Kamran Akmal (PAK)920106
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)920097
Matthew Wade (AUS)920217
Quinton de Kock (SA)820145
MS Dhoni (IND)820155
Kamran Akmal (PAK)820097
Matthew Cross (SCO)820218

Leave a Comment